Who can register to vote?

Not sure if you're eligible to register to vote in the UK? Here you can find information on who can register.

On this page you can find information about who can register to vote at elections and referendums in the UK.

Who can register to vote?


In England, Northern Ireland and Wales you can register to vote if you are 17 years old (and in some cases if you are 16). However, you can only vote when you become 18.

In Scotland you can register to vote if you are 15 years old (and in some cases if you are 14). You can vote in local elections and elections to the Scottish Parliament when you are 16 and elections to the UK and European Parliaments when you are 18.


You qualify to register to vote if you are:

  • a British citizen
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen resident in the UK
  • an EU citizen resident in the UK

A qualifying Commonwealth citizen is someone who has leave to enter or remain in the UK, or does not require such leave.

The definition of a 'Commonwealth' citizen includes citizens of British Crown Dependencies and British Overseas Territories.

Antigua and Barbuda KiribatiSierra Leone
Australia LesothoSingapore
The Bahamas MalawiSolomon Islands
Bangladesh MalaysiaSouth Africa
Barbados Malta*Sri Lanka
Belize MauritiusSwaziland
Botswana MozambiqueTonga
Brunei Darussalam NamibiaTrinidad & Tobago
Cameroon NauruTuvalu
Canada New ZealandUganda
Cyprus* NigeriaUnited Kingdom
Dominica PakistanUnited Republic of Tanzania
Fiji Islands** Papua New GuineaVanuatu
GrenadaSt Kitts & NevisZimbabwe
GuyanaSt Lucia 
IndiaSt Vincent & The Grenadines 

*Although also EU member states, citizens of Cyprus and Malta are eligible to be registered to vote in all elections held in the UK.

**Citizens of Fiji and Zimbabwe retain their voting rights despite the countries having been suspended from the Commonwealth.

Isle of Man
The Channel Islands (including Jersey, Guernsey, Sark, Alderney, Herm and the other inhabited Channel Islands).

British Antarctic Territory
British Indian Ocean Territory
British Virgin Islands
Cayman Islands
Falkland Islands
Pitcairn Island
St Helena and dependencies (Ascension Island and Tristan da Cunha)
South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
Sovereign base areas on Cyprus
Turks and Caicos Islands

Citizens of the European Union (who are not Commonwealth citizens or Citizens of the Republic of Ireland) can vote n European and local elections in the UK, elections to the Scottish Parliament and Welsh and Northern Ireland Assemblies (if they live in those areas) and some referendums (based on the rules for the particular referendum). They are not able to to vote in UK Parliamentary general elections.

Czech RepublicNetherlands
IrelandUnited Kingdom